Learning & Achieving Together

Key Stage 5 ICT

Students will have the opportunity to study practical and project-based units. Cambridge Technical is a vocational qualification that is designed to give students a work-focused alternative to A levels. The Cambridge Technical provides opportunities to develop skills demanded by employers.

Level 3 Cambridge Technical Introductory Diploma in ICT

ICT is at the heart of everyday life, at home, work and in our leisure time, from computer graphics and control systems to communications and problem-solving. ICT has an ever increasing role to play.

Level 3 Diploma in ICT will enable students to:

  • Select from a variety of units which include content on hardware, software and online
  • Engage with practical activities in the form of learn, do, and review
  • Develop transferable skills for the workplace or future studies.

Learners will also have the opportunity to acquire the essential knowledge and tools for the world of work by developing transferable skills such as planning, research and analysis, working with others and effective communication.

Assessment and Examination (OCR)

The assessment for the Cambridge Technical qualification is task-based only.

This qualification is internally assessed by the centre assessors and externally moderated.

Students will be expected to complete six practical units of work.

This qualification is graded: Pass, Merit, Distinction, or Distinction*.