Learning & Achieving Together

Headteacher's Award

Arwel Jones, Headteacher of Brentside High School, won the Secondary School Headteacher of the Year Award at the London and South East Teaching Awards ceremony at the British Museum on 22 June 2010. 


Headteacher Arwel Jones with actress Emma Thompson, President of the Teaching Awards, at the British Museum awards ceremony

This award is a ringing endorsement of the effort and vision of Mr Jones in leading the school's incredible progress. Since his appointment the school has achieved significant year-on-year improvements. 

Mr Jones modestly maintains that "although this is a personal award, it would not have been possible for me to achieve it without the full and dedicated support of all stakeholders which include staff, students, parents and governors".

The governors are very proud of the school, its leadership, staff and students.

Catherine Smith, Chair of Governors